CRYBABY

CryBaby

I need to talk about an album that I was surprised by how much I liked. I have always enjoyed songs that have a good female chorus, catchy melody and with deep lyrics on top. The first song I heard by Melanie Martinez was Soap, and I watched the video which had a strange 80/90’s Trip-Hop vibe to it, I was unsure of what I thought; watch the video here: Melanie Martinez – Soap. She is so strange with unique hairstyles and videos that are out of this world, it is nice to see a change in the music world that is not too drastic.

I decided to get her whole album which I soon found out had only been released in the last month (August 15th, 2015) and I fell in love with her style and capturing lyrics. She has a very childish theme throughout the album and it is shown by names such as Sippy Cup, Dollhouse, Mrs. Potato Head & Teddy Bear. I almost feel strange recommending it to people as well. The entire album is pleasurable and can be played (as long as you don’t worry about displaying one’s masculinity or status, being a guy myself) from beginning to end without having to excessive skip past songs. You do not want to miss out on this upcoming artist. Everyone should listen to it and even if you don’t enjoy it, be aware of who she is because I am positive we won’t be hearing the last of her anytime soon.

You can listen to her music on Spotify, most songs are on Soundcloud and her album can be purchased on ITunes Cry Baby (Deluxe) $12.

Leave a comment